top of page
  • Sandra Reji

The Magic of Music

Music. What is music? I would say music is beauty, art form, life and many more things. Music has the power to bring changes in someone’s life. Then why is music looked down upon? When we tell our parents we want to pursue music, most of the time they just shove it off by saying it's not important and that it won’t pay us.


Many people still don’t know the power music holds. I used to be one of them. Before the COVID 19 pandemic arised, I never really cared about music. I rarely listened to songs. When friends discussed songs and music, I felt left out. Yes, I used to sing but it never really made me dig into what music is. I thought maybe music is just a timepass, not important. But I was proved wrong.


The pandemic, of course, was a nightmare for everyone. Me being an optimistic person turned into a pessimist over the lockdown. So many negative thoughts in my mind. In the morning, dad went to drop mom and I used to look after my brother whenever my parents weren’t home. While I attended my online classes, dad took care of my little brother(2 years old then) and after my class, I took care of him while dad went to pick mom from the hospital.


Being stuck at home and not seeing the outside world was too much for me. It crumbled my world. I felt suffocated. I felt like I was in a dark loop. Even now when I think about the lockdown era, all I see is darkness. It really was a dark memory for me. I used to get sad a lot. I was fine when my parents and brother were there at home but the moment I was alone, I felt lonely although I had people by my side.


Then one day, I heard a song. At first, I liked the rhythm and the sound of the song, I didn’t care about the lyrics. Then after a few days of listening to the song in a loop, I decided to look at the lyrics. The lyrics were nothing but beautiful. That song pulled me from the negative thoughts I had. I listened to more songs of different genres. I started to love music. I started to love songs. I started to sing(I’m not the best at singing but I believe I can be better) and it just made me feel at ease. I can say with certainty that if there was no music, I don’t know what would’ve happened to me during the lockdown period. Music was the best thing to happen to me.


I still love music and I don’t think I will ever get tired of it. Now, I’m in grade 11 and am facing a lot of stress. But when I listen to music, the stress just fades away. It vanishes. Now, I also go for guitar classes. Playing the guitar is like therapy for me. It makes me go to a different world and that helps me in giving myself a break from reality—a break from the hectic life.


I cannot even imagine my life without guitar, singing (although not a very good singer) and music. I am very glad that they entered my life and made it beautiful. This is the power that music holds. This is the magic of music.

27 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

HOW COLLEEN HOOVER HAS HER READERS WRAPPED AROUND HER BOOKS

Colleen Hoover is one of the most famous authors from New York who got recently recognized for her book ‘It Ends With Us’, which got many readers hooked to this book containing a life story of Lily wh

Hadron Collider

Scientific development has come quite far since the 17th century, where the first traces of modern science had been seen. One of the advanced developments happens to be particle accelerators. CERN (Ge

bottom of page