top of page
  • Swasti Arya

The Real Religion

What is religion? As much as I think about the word ‘religion’, it brings different

memories in my mind. As a young child, I have visited different religious institutions

with my family. I also remember our visits to church, mosque, gurdwara and temples

in my junior school trips. One thing clearly highlighted in all such trips was that God

is one and people may believe in any of its form.

My parents also told me that religion is a way of believing in God and getting

connected with God. Hence, whether its a bhajan in a temple or namaz in a mosque,

ardaas in a gurdwara or prayers in a church — all are just different mediums in

different religions of getting connected with the one god almighty. Mahatma Gandhi

emphasized this view as he said , “Religions were, at bottom, one, though they

differed in detail and outward form even like the leaves on a tree”. Hence, religion is

a pure and honest institution that values humanity and love.

However, the way I see the potrayal of religion in my surrounding world now, I

feel worried and tense. Somehow I feel that the definitions of religion I was taught as

a young child was completely incorrect with reference to present times. If religion is a

way of connecting with God , then how come religious identity of one community

becomes a threat for others. If all religions teach love and compassion, then why

specific religious communities are treated with hatred and negativity. If religion

means opening our hearts with humanity then why school gates are shut for some

children because of their religious identities.

It is important that we understand that religion never talks about division. Religion

only means love, respect and humanity . I believe it is the time for us to become

religious in true sense. It is the time that we understand and recall Gandhiji’s

favourite bhajan , “Ishwar allah tero naam, sabko sanmati de bhagwan” .

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

HOW COLLEEN HOOVER HAS HER READERS WRAPPED AROUND HER BOOKS

Colleen Hoover is one of the most famous authors from New York who got recently recognized for her book ‘It Ends With Us’, which got many readers hooked to this book containing a life story of Lily wh

Hadron Collider

Scientific development has come quite far since the 17th century, where the first traces of modern science had been seen. One of the advanced developments happens to be particle accelerators. CERN (Ge

The Magic of Music

Music. What is music? I would say music is beauty, art form, life and many more things. Music has the power to bring changes in someone’s life. Then why is music looked down upon? When we tell our par

bottom of page